Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday 12 May 2017
Time: 19:30

Conductor Jan Latham-Koenig

Cello Raphael Wallfisch

Mozart Marriage of Figaro Overture

Mozart Eine Kleine Nachtmusik

Tchaikovsky Variations on a Rococo Theme

Beethoven Symphony No.5

The world-famous Royal Philharmonic Orchestra makes its long awaited return to the Dorking Halls this spring for a delectable programme of classical masterpieces.

Led by conductor Jan Latham-Koenig, the Orchestra will open the concert with layers of lively, fast paced strings in the Overture to Mozart’s spirited operatic masterpiece, The Marriage of Figaro. The Orchestra will then perform one of Mozart’s most beloved and expertly crafted pieces, Eine kleine Nachtmusik.

Joining the Orchestra for the cello showpiece, Tchaikovsky’s Variations on a Rococo Theme, will be the outstanding cellist Raphael Wallfisch. Technically demanding but light hearted, the cello solos resonate throughout the piece and are considered to be Tchaikovsky’s homage to Mozart.

Closing the concert will be one of the most instantly recognisable pieces of classical music; Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5. Opening with four imposing chords, this piece has been sampled in every genre from rock to disco and here is your chance to hear it in its full, imposing glory.


£30.50, £26.50, £21.50, £15.50

Friends of Dorking Halls: £2 discount

Students & Under 16s £10.00 (Maximum 50 tickets)

Schools: £10.00 per tickets, Teachers go for Free (Maximum 50 tickets)

Enjoy a year's worth of exclusive benefits by becoming a Friend

Image for Royal Philharmonic Orchestra